R.I.P. the human fly. Lux Interior dies at 62

From the earliest memory of seeing a live band (in Newcastle as I was WAY too young to get into the over 18s gig in Sydney) Lux cut an energetic, truly wild and thoroughly perverse figure. Taking off his own stiletto to drink the sweat from his shoe, I have to say I was mesmerised, hooked and slightly grossed out. That someone was so good at transgressing the boundaries of taste, gender and genre, and of writing and performing some of the most brilliant tracks of all time, still blows me away. A few years back when performing in London, he was bouncing around mostly naked like the best of them and I thought – that’s Iggy Pop, but even more so.

Love you Lux. Thanks for totally messing with my head. I wouldn’t have been 14+ in the same way without you.

Life is short, filled with stuff, don’t know what for, I ain’t had enough
— the Cramps, New Kind of Kick.

Leave a Reply

