For those of us Aussies that have a soft spot for the milk crate…

Milk crates. I love them, and they certainly hold a place in my heart and a certain amount of nostalgia for me. My student furniture consisted of a whole range of milk-crate related furniture, from a fantastically high bed set on a stack of strapped-together crates (facing outwards, and used open cube storage for my clothes) to bookshelves and a coffee table.

My favourite cafe in Crown St in Sydeny is famous for its milk-crate seating on the pavement… and I still smile when I think of the enterprising throngs who sell a milk crate for $5 along Oxfors St on Mardi Gras day, so that you can get a better view.

Here are some fantastic and functional pieces made of milk crates by some fellow Aussies.

One response to “For those of us Aussies that have a soft spot for the milk crate…

Leave a Reply

